ACT college students to receive cash grants and AIE scholarships

ACT college students to receive cash grants and AIE scholarships

ACT college students to receive cash grants and AIE scholarships

05-Dec-2011 (Canberra, Australia): Two local entrepreneurs, John De Margheriti and Steve Wang have big plans for ACT college students and on Friday at a Launch Event hosted by Hawker College, a combination of cash grants and Academy of Interactive Entertainment (AIE) scholarships that will total an unprecedented private donation to the value of 1.4 Million dollars to Canberra colleges over the coming 10 years will be formally announced. The launch will be attended by a number of VIP guests including Ms Mary Porter AM MLA, Member for Ginninderra, on behalf of Minister Bourke.

“It is significant that these grants for innovation are the initiative of two very talented and successful entrepreneurs who are graduates of the ACT public school system. It is doubly pleasing that these two outstanding business leaders should endow scholarships to encourage the next generation of innovators and entrepreneurs from our colleges.” Dr Chris Bourke, Minister for Education said.

Mr De Margheriti and Mr Wang are both 1980 Hawker College alumni who went into business together in 1985. Their hard work is paying off and they are fortunate enough to have become leaders in their chosen field of computer games and software development. They want the very best and brightest Hawker College students to be encouraged and recognised through a series of cash grants and AIE scholarships that will take effect this year.

“We are making a private investment into our college students who are the future innovators and business people of the ACT and our country” said John De Margheriti, Chairman of the AIE.

“If even one student, or group of students, start up a micro business that grows into something more, then our investment will have been worth every cent. It could mean millions to the local economy and increased job prospects in the ACT – really it’s all about a vision to create and maintain jobs for our children said Steve Wang.

Hawker College will be the primary benefactor of the program, however, parts of the program are also being extended to other ACT colleges and Hawker College have been instrumental in bringing the groups together for this program.

A number of AIE first year scholarships will be available to all ACT senior colleges annually, in addition to the following cash grants:

Available to Hawker College, Canberra College, Melba Copland Secondary School, Dickson College, Erindale College, Gungahlin College, University of Canberra Senior Secondary College, Lake Tuggeranong College, Narrabundah College
  • De Margheriti – Wang prize for mathematics
  • De Margheriti – Wang prize for information technology

Available to Hawker College Students only:
  • De Margheriti – Wang prize for entrepreneurship
  • De Margheriti – Wang prize for digital media
  • De Margheriti – Wang prize for graphic design

For more information, please contact AIE Canberra.